International Laureates

The Children’s Laureate award initially began in the United Kingdom and was given to a "writer or illustrator of children's books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field." English Poet Laureate Ted Hughes and children’s writer Michael Morpurgo came up with this idea and the first official Children’s Laureate award was given in England to Quentin Blake in 1999. 


There are now Children’s Laureates in Australia [2012], Ireland [2010], The Netherlands [2013], the United Kingdom [1999], Mexico [2015], Sweden [2011], the United States of America [2008] and Wales [2019].

Every two years since 2013 the International Children’s Laureate Summit has been held at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair in Italy and each of the Australian Children’s Laureates have attended this important and interesting event. 

Learn more about the work of our current Laureate HERE

ACLF general enquiries  /  PO Box 5083, Brunswick North, VIC 3056


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 ACLF. Proudly created with