top of page

Our Laureates

The Australian Children's Laureate is the national ambassador for reading and Australian children's literature. 

The Laureate's role is to promote the transformational power of reading, creativity and story in the lives of young Australians.

The Laureate speaks on behalf of all creators and of the entire industry, representing reading advocates, educators, librarians, booksellers and publishers. The formation of strong international links with other Laureates is also giving visibility to the work being done in Australia at international literary forums.

The Australian Children's Laureate Initiative has been developed by the Australian Children’s Laureate Foundation (ACLF) following the successful implementation of this idea in the UK.

col Laureate VERT logo.png

Previous Laureates

Since 2012 some exceptional Australian authors and illustrators have taken on the role of Australian Children's Laureate.

They have spoken to more than 300,000 people of all ages – yes 300,000 people – in schools and libraries, at conferences and festivals in all Australian states and territories. 


They have travelled overseas and been to the Bologna Children’s Book Fair in Italy to meet with Children’s Laureates from other countries.


They have been very busy!

  • Ursula Dubosarsky (2020–2021)

  • Morris Gleitzman (2018–2019)

  • Leigh Hobbs (2016–2017)

  • Jackie French (2014–2015)

  • Alison Lester and Boori Monty Pryor (2012–2013)

bottom of page